Progress Report – 10/21/2016

Well folks, I’m officially in the 260s! Of course, I only lost .9 pounds, but hey, it counts, and I’m proud of my progress. I weighed in at 269.6 this morning. This is the first time I’ve been in the 260s since the summer of 2012, and man does it feel good.

I struggled a lot last weekend. My cheat meal (Friday night) turned into a cheat weekend, complete with massive amounts of carbs, higher-than-normal blood glucose numbers, and a 3-pound gain on the scale. So, I played catch-up the entire week. But, I worked it all off and then some.

For those of you keeping score at home, I’m a bit behind on my plan to hit 250 by Thanksgiving. I now have fewer than 5 weeks to lose 19.6 pounds. That’s an average loss of 3.92 pounds per week. Let’s just call it an even 4. That’s a pretty tall task.

So, I need your help and encouragement! Tell me your success stories. What changes have you made that have increased your quality of life? I’m not talking just weight loss stuff here; tell me about any changes that have improved your overall health and well-being!

Let’s make this a community effort!

6 thoughts on “Progress Report – 10/21/2016

  1. You’re doing great. Be careful of those cheat meals. I used to think I could do it, but then it would be a two week ordeal. Great job getting right back to it! And don’t let your brain go there, don’t start talking about those foods you used to be able to eat. I can’t talk about I’ve cream!

    Like

  2. Way to go Clayton! I’m rooting for you!

    Have you tried the Whole30? While it was very challenging for me (as a sugar junkie), it really helped me to see my relationship with food and the impact of food on my energy level, mood, skin, etc. I’m planning to do another one in a couple weeks and try to stick with more of the lifestyle changes this time.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Meghan! This is a whole new world for me, and I’m definitely going through sugar withdrawals, but it’s totally worth it!

      Like

  3. Congratulations, Clayton! I love that you are celebrating every victory. To respond to hour query, my quality of life increased drastically when I started focusing on whole foods, and eating fewer and fewer grains. Eating mainly organic animal proteins and a huge variety of fruits and vegetables brought my pain and inflammation way down, my mood way up, and affected my sleep quality as well.

    Like

  4. Clayton, if I comment twice, I blame electronics.
    Congratulations! I’m glad you are celebrating every victory – that’s so important!
    In response to your query, concentrating on eating high-quality animal proteins and a wide variety of fruits and vegetables, thereby eliminating dairy and hugely limiting grains, has SO increased my quality of life! I have way less pain and inflammation, way better moods, and noticeably better sleep. It’s been life-changing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

