Lifestyles of the healthy and keto

“It’s not a diet; it’s a lifestyle.”

Yeah, BS. Anything that doesn’t allow me to go crazy on doughnuts and mozzarella sticks isn’t a lifestyle.

Okay, not really.

I’m having quite a bit of difficulty adjusting my mindset here. I really don’t want to be on a diet for the rest of my life. However, as a diabetic, there are certain lifestyle changes I need to make. They aren’t convenient, and they aren’t enjoyable, at least as of this moment. But, with a little adjustment in my thinking, I can shift from a diet mentality to a lifestyle mentality.

So, what’s keeping me from seeing this as a lifestyle? I honestly have no idea. There are moments when I think “Oh yeah, I can do this forever!” Then there are others when it’s all I can do not to buy out the entire potato chip aisle.

How do you view healthy eating? Do you see it as a lifestyle, or is it more of a rhythm of healthy choices with indulgences mixed in?

2 thoughts on “Lifestyles of the healthy and keto

  1. I do think it is more of a lifestyle. When you start thinking about what is going on inside your body rather than just weight issues it becomes much easier. Every once in while have a treat, over indulge, fast, and get right back on. Make a keto treat. You are doing awesome and it will get easier, and you are getting healthier. FYI I was attacked at school by some monkey bread! It happens! Back to business.

    Like

  2. It is a little hard to think of never indulging in sweet things or bread or rice as often and in the quantities I used to. I love many carby things. But with how great I feel on Keto, I feel like it’s giving up something temporary in exchange for something both more lasting and more constant. I have almost perpetual energy and focus, my body feels clean and clear, my immune system is working better and staving off more ailments and perhaps cancer. Feeling good and being a better version of myself is worth the cost of not eating sugar in my book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

