I’m cheating on you

This post is different, because I really have no idea what I’m talking about. How’s that for an opening line to draw you in?

Virtually everyone on any sort of structured eating plan recommends some type of cheating. But what ¬†constitutes a “cheat”? What are the parameters? Do I throw caution to the wind and eat as many pizzas as possible? Is it a cheat meal or a cheat day?

I have so many questions!

So, do you allow yourself a cheat meal? A cheat day? What’s your favorite cheat food? How often do you cheat?

3 thoughts on “I’m cheating on you

  1. There better be a good reason to “cheat” for me personally. And if I do, I try to make up for it over the next couple days by being under my calories a bit. Overall, if I know that I’m going to be out for a happy hour, etc, I budget for it and save my calories for it that day. I really like MyFitnessPal because I still eat what I want for the most part, just smaller portions. I think if I let myself do any sort of uncalculated “cheat” it could lead to more rationalization later and I could fall off the bandwagon. This is all just my first hand thoughts/experience. It’s all about behavior right now. Good luck, keep it up!!

    Like

    • Man, I’m so used to using food as a reward (for pretty much anything), I need to start adopting the same perspective on rewards, for sure.

      Like

  2. I like what Michael Johnson said. I think that cheating is something that should only come after establishing a new habit/lifestyle. Say somewhere in the 4 – 8 week range. For a big new change to work, you have to become fundamentally ok with that change. For me, despite having a major sweet tooth in the past, I’ve basically weaned myself off of sweetness including artificial sweeteners for the most part. But now that I’ve established a new default, I can handle one night of ‘cheating’ and it’s not a big deal anymore. But when you’re transitioning, it’s very hard to only cheat once and not want more. Bottom line, you have to learn to be ok going cold turkey without some things you used to love- and don’t cheat until you’ve gotten past that hurdle. My 2 cents.

    Like

Leave a Reply

