Perseverance?

A friend of mine recently made an observation about my weight loss journey: “You’ve never gone more than 5-8 days without cheating.”

I’ve noticed a rhythm in my determination – 1 week on, 1 week off. I have a fantastic week like last week, losing over 6 pounds, and follow it up with a bad week, gaining almost 4 of them back. These are generally driven by my emotions (just ask my therapist).

The thing is, I’m trying as hard as I can (or at least as hard as I think I can, but that’s a topic for another post). So, something else is missing. Is it a spiritual component? Is it an aspect of my core character that needs work? I honestly have no idea. But I know I need to figure it out.

Here’s what I know about my journey right now:

  • I¬†can do it.
  • I have already done it.
  • I have the potential to make a ridiculous amount of progress in a relatively small amount of time (6 pounds in a week is borderline Biggest Loser territory!).
  • I have an amazing group of extremely supportive friends checking in on me every day.
  • I have a fantastic group of readers here on the blog who interact with and encourage me on this journey.
  • My experiences can help other get fired up about their own journeys.

There’s so much more to this blog than my own success or failure. This isn’t a solo project. We’re all part of this. I don’t want to report a weight gain to you guys. And I don’t want this blog to go dark for weeks on end because I’m ashamed by my lack of progress.

So, what are we doing to tackle the issues in our lives? It’s Monday, so let’s kick the week off well!

One thought on “Perseverance?

  1. I do think that this quality may be the number one quality that sets apart those who succeed and those who don’t reach their full potential. The beauty is that it can (and should) be practiced in every circumstance whether good or bad.

    Like

Leave a Reply

