Flex those self control muscles

Okay guys, I’m emotional. I eat when I’m emotional. Usually just when I’m sad and down, I suppose.

When I feel intense negative emotion, I want to eat a bunch of unhealthy stuff. I want to throw caution to the wind, forget all my goals, and just do what feels good (read: “pizza”). Yet eating is the last thing I should do, because that will just cause me to spiral into the depths of shame and depression.

Emotion is unpredictable. It comes and goes without warning.

Example: I just came across a picture of the building where my ex and I had talked about having our wedding. Just a stupid Facebook post, and boom, I’m here tearing up at my desk. What was the very next thought I had, you ask? “I should go down to the cafeteria and get some food.” I brought my broth and a little ham to have for lunch. That’s the plan. So why do I find myself drawn to the cafeteria?

I suppose the answer to this is temptation is to flex my self-control and will power muscles. They’re weak, but getting stronger. Two months ago I wouldn’t have written a blog; I’d be stewing in the shame of french fries and fried chicken. Three months ago I wouldn’t have thought to reach out to friends who know my struggles.

Eventually my self control muscles will be so strong I won’t even have to reach out (hopefully). I’ll feel the emotion, let it pass, then go heat up my broth without further thought. But that won’t happen unless I make the right choice, right now, in the midst of the emotion.

Onward, my friends!

Leave a Reply

