Progress Report – 12/23/2016

After an emotional roller coaster of a week, I’m down 2.6 pounds to 259.5. Hello 250s! The last time I can remember weighing in lower than 260 was in 2007. That’s almost a decade ago!

I’m heading home to Southern California for the weekend to celebrate Christmas with my family. We have a couple meal traditions, some candy in the stockings, and a gift certificate to The Cheesecake Factory we’ll be using on Christmas Eve. So, I’m going to take a bit of a break from the diet restrictions. I won’t go nuts, but there’s no way I’m skipping mom’s cooking, especially on Christmas morning!

I’ll be back on Tuesday, and, after a work team breakfast at Key’s Cafe, it’s back to the grind. My focus when I return will be on becoming fully fat-adapted. I haven’t gone more than 8 days sticking to the keto plan, and I want to see what’s possible if I do. The plan is to stick to a fully keto diet – no cheating! – for 6 weeks, then begin reintroducing certain carb-rich foods (very similar to the Whole 30 plan). Mainly, I want to see how my blood glucose levels react to certain foods, and see if I can integrate them into my diet without my those levels spiking.

My emphasis here is on living a healthy lifestyle. The diet is a bit extreme, and I don’t plan to stay 100% keto for the rest of my life. However, I want to exercise the self control necessary to complete these experiments, knowing they’ll lead to a more fulfilling, healthy life. I’m also hoping I drop some serious weight at the same time!

Over the last 3 months I’ve dropped 32.5 pounds. That’s nuts. I can’t wait to see what 2017 will bring!

Leave a Reply

