Progress Report – 5/26/17

I’m happy to report it was a great week! While my weight went up a smidge – up .7 pounds to 268.8 – I stayed true to my low carb eating plan, started meeting with a nutritionist, and saw my fasting blood sugars continue to fall. I’m encouraged! This week I’d like to see my weight reflect my effort, so I’ll identify a couple key changes to make. The biggest change I’ll be making is at the request of my nutritionist – begin focusing on nourishing foods. Sure, I didn’t eat many carbs this week, but most of what I did eat was cheap and refined (i.e. plenty of cheap cheese, bacon, and ground meat). This weekend I’ll take a field trip to Whole Foods to begin familiarizing myself with nourishing, filling foods, raised ethically and healthily. I’m pretty darn excited to see what I find!

I’ve also decided I’d like to implement a “moderate ketogenic” diet. This means I’ll try to keep my daily carb intake below 50g, rather than the strict keto goal of 30g. I believe this will allow me to integrate a few carb-containing foods into my day, resulting in fewer cravings and more overall satisfaction.

In other news, yesterday I took my first walk in over a month! I’ve had to do my best to stay off my foot since the surgery, but this week my doctor said I could start putting some weight on it from time to time. So, I leashed up my new dog Walter (!!!) and explored my apartment complex. We were out for about a half hour, and we walked maybe a half-mile (partly due to my foot, and partly due to Walter’s ridiculous sniffing of everything). But, we were outside enjoying the day.

So, there you have it. Onward!

Leave a comment